Watercolors

Yesterday afternoon I experimented with some new watercolor techniques. I had a few scraps of unused watercolor paper that I didn’t want to throw away.

The green grasses in the featured image happened when I added more and more water to my green as I applied it on the paper. I love how the darker grasses in the foreground are offset by what appears to be a layer of light fog behind them.

The clouds in the blue sky in the image below happen when you dab a paper towel gently into the wet paint.

Clouds

In this last image, I sprinkled table salt into the wet paint.  Once dry, this magical snow flake like pattern appears.  It reminds me of a Japanese screen.

Salt Technique

These are each 3 by 6 inches.  I’m delighted to have found a good use for these little bits of paper!

2 thoughts on “Watercolors

  1. If you find any typos in my stuff, please tell me.

    Love this post but the ‘scrap’ is spelled ‘scrape’ – FYI

    On Tue, Jul 19, 2016 at 2:33 PM, Entertaining Beautifully wrote:

    > Anne LaFollette posted: “Yesterday afternoon I experimented with some new > watercolor techniques. I had a few scrapes of unused watercolor paper that > I didn’t want to throw away. The green grasses in the featured image > happened when I added more and more water to my green as I ap” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

